By using the Libraries’ Electronic Resources, you are agreeing to the University Libraries Appropriate Use Policy for Electronic Resources. See the guide for Off-Campus Access Information.

Full Text= Full Text
Partial Full Text= Partial Full Text
No Full Text= No Full Text

Primary Sources

Full Text
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages (over 28 million articles) of primary source newspapers published in the 19th century, which include newspapers from cities and rural areas throughout the United States....more.
Full Text
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection
Provides digital access to 50 thematic series of American magazines and journals published between 1684 and 1912 and collected by the American Antiquarian Society....more.
Full Text
Accessible Archives
Search primary source content from American history and culture such as African American Newspapers, Godey’s Lady Book, and the Pennsylvania Gazette....more.
Full Text
AILALink
Fully searchable immigration law library containing primary and secondary legal resources. Courtesy of the Vincent C. Immel Law Library....more.
Full Text
American Slavery Collection, 1820-1922
This archival collection contains over 3,500 primary source American slavery and abolition materials in the form of books, pamphlets, graphs, and ephemera in full color....more.
Full Text
American State Papers
United States legislative and executive documents, 1789-1838, published in the second to third quarters of the 19th Century....more.
Full Text
American State Papers with U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American Slavery Collection
Search the American State Papers, the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, and the American Slavery Collection at the same time....more.
Full Text
Apartheid: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
From the Archives of the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency, this resource is a digitized collection of primary source materials related to apartheid and its impact on South Africa and the world....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: All Subscribed Collections
Archives Unbound consists of discrete, topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. SLU currently subscribes to seven collections covering aspects of African American history, the Holocaust, and women....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
1970-1981. Search documents about the Black Liberation Army made up primarily of Black Panthers who waged an armed struggle consisting of robberies, bombings, and prison breaks....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
Find diverse views on political, social, cultural, and economic issues through documents on internal organization, personnel, and activities of many prominent American radical movements of the 1960s....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
From the FBI Library, this collection contains documents regarding the Justice Department and its Federal Bureau of Investigation's widespread investigation into people and groups thought to be politically suspect....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes
1944-1949. Provides documentation of the investigation and prosecution of war crimes by Nazi concentration camp commandants and other personnel through various types of documents and photographs....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues
This collection consists of women's periodicals with articles about the lives and roles of women in society during the push for suffrage, fair pay, and better working conditions in the U.S. and England....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
1913-1998. Search organizational records, print publications, and over 100 articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, collected by Dr. Komozi Woodard....more.
Full Text
Archives Unbound: Republic of New Afrika
1968-1980. Search or browse materials documenting The Republic of New Afrika (RNA), whose main objectives were to create an independent Black majority country and get reparations for injustices suffered by African Americans....more.
Partial Full Text
Black Studies Center with the Chicago Defender
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion....more.
Full Text
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online
Based on the print edition published in 2012, this online edition includes the print edition and extends it....more.
Full Text
Catholic News Archive
The Catholic News Archive provides access to thousands of digitized issues of Catholic newspapers....more.
Full Text
Chicago Defender (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
A leading Black newspaper published in Chicago, but with over two-thrids of its readers outside of that city. View individual articles as well as an article&39;s position on the full page from July 1909-1975....more.
Full Text
Chicago Tribune (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Search for and view individual articles from 1849 to 1994 as well as their position on the full page....more.
Full Text
Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources
The most comprehensive dictionary of Medieval Latin to have been produced and the first to focus on British Medieval Latin. ...more.
Full Text
Early English Books Online
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700. Transcriptions are available for more than 40% of these titles. ...more.
Full Text
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Search the full-text of over 182,000 English-language titles published 1701 to 1800 for subjects such as English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science....more.
No Full Text
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
Guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Topics include European exploration, disease outbreaks, slavery, and portrayals of native American peoples....more.
Full Text
Gale Primary Sources
Experience Gale Literary Sources, the search platform that allows searching many Gale digital collections together such as NCCO, ECCO, The Times Digital Archive, and The Making of Modern Law....more.
Full Text
Germania Sacra Digital
Germania Sacra is a series of volumes intended to offer a historical/statistical description of the “Church in Germany under the Holy Roman Empire” by presenting source material from archives and libraries related to German dioceses, cathedral chapters, monasteries, parishes, etc. up to the time of their dissolution during the Reformation or through secularization....more.
Full Text
GovInfo
GovInfo is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO) to provide free public access to the full text of current and historical official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. ...more.
Full Text
HeritageQuest Online
Access American genealogical sources rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids....more.
Full Text
LexisNexis for Law Students
A legal database containing federal and state cases, statutes, regulations, international materials, and a variety of secondary resources. Law Students only. ...more.
Full Text
Library of Latin Texts - Series A
Contains a diverse range of Latin works from Antiquity, the Church fathers, and the medieval and modern periods. Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, which has 3 simultaneous users....more.
Full Text
Library of Latin Texts - Series B
Contains Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The data are therefore very diverse. Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, which has 3 simultaneous users....more.
Full Text
LitFinder
Literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. ...more.
Full Text
LLMC Digital Collections
Consists of digitized law materials from the Legislative, Judicial, and Executive Branches of the U.S. government, military law, some state law, and some common law abroad....more.
Full Text
Making of Modern Law : U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs, 1832-1978
Provides U.S. Supreme Court Records and lawyers' briefs (a statement of a case, including its factual and legal arguments) from 1831-1978....more.
Full Text
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Brings together 19th and early 20th Century U.S. and British legal research documents....more.
Full Text
Making of Modern Law: Trials, 1600-1926
Provides trial books from many countries and in many languages although most are in English and published in Great Britain or the U.S. The content describes courtroom dramas that scandalized society....more.
Full Text
Monumenta Germaniae Historica Online
"A [growing] corpus of historical works, charters, legal texts, letters, political texts, and literature from the European Middle Ages." (subtitle of database) Part of Brepolis Latin Complete, which has 3 simultaneous users....more.
Full Text
NAACP Papers
1909-1974. Search this digitized collection from the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) containing internal memos, legal briefings, letters, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country....more.
Full Text
New York Times (Nexis Uni)
1980-present. Search content from the New York Times available in Nexis Uni. It is the paper of record for the United States. ...more.
Full Text
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides digital reproductions of every page from every available issue in the date range available. Search the full text and display pdf of article as well as position of article on the original page....more.
Full Text
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Collection of primary source materials created during the "long nineteenth century" (late 1700s to early 1900s). Includes books, periodicals, diaries, letters, photographs, maps, sheet music, and more....more.
Full Text
Oxford Handbooks Online: Law
A collection of reference resources about law with a focus on aspects of international law. Courtesy of Vincent C. Immel Law Library....more.
Full Text
Patrologia Latina Database
A vast compilation of patristic and medieval Latin literature comprising the works of the Church Fathers as found in the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina....more.
Full Text
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search across all of SLU's subscribed ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune, Chicago Defender, New York Times, and St. Louis Post-Dispatch....more.
Full Text
ProQuest Regulatory Insight
1935-present. Includes regulatory histories associated with public laws, executive orders, and departments and agencies....more.
Full Text
ProQuest Supreme Court Insight
Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per curiam decisions, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs....more.
Full Text
Slave Narratives
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writer's Project, 1936-1938, contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-while photographs of former slaves collected in the 1930s...more.
Full Text
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
This HeinOnline collection contains legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. ...more.
Full Text
St. Louis Post-Dispatch (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Search the historical St. Louis Post-Dispatch from 1874-2003....more.
Full Text
Talmud Text Databank
The Sol and Evelyn Henkind Talmud Text Databank is a fully searchable database of the digitized text versions of all primary witnesses to the Babylonian Talmud....more.
Full Text
The Times Digital Archive
1785-1985. Search the first 200 years of The Times (London) and display and print page images of individual articles or an entire page....more.
Full Text
TradeLawGuide
Provides access to WTO law including agreements, rules of interpretation, instruments and dispute settlement body minutes. Also includes attorney prepared case Commentaries on recent WTO cases and features a citator that collects all jurisprudence under a treaty provision for the WTO system. Courtesy of the Vincent C. Immel Law Library....more.
Full Text
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Search reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, 1817-1994....more.