By using the Libraries’ Electronic Resources, you are agreeing to the University Libraries Appropriate Use Policy for Electronic Resources. See the guide for Off-Campus Access Information.

Full Text= Full Text
Partial Full Text= Partial Full Text
No Full Text= No Full Text
Assako Holyoke (Subject librarian for )

(314) 977-8811
assako.holyoke@slu.edu
Room: 218

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Donghua Tao (Subject librarian for )

(314) 977-8812
donghua.tao@slu.edu
Room: 219
Research Guides

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Mary Krieger (Subject librarian for )

(314) 977-8810
mary.krieger@slu.edu
Room: 217
Research Guides

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Gregg Clark (Subject librarian for )

(314) 977-8814
william.clark@slu.edu
Room: 221
Research Guides

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Health & Medicine

Best Bets

Partial Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
1937-present. Search the primary index for nursing and allied health literature including health education, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, physician's assistant, and more....more.
No Full Text
PubMed
1809-present.The definitive database for medical research and drug studies provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information....more.
No Full Text
Scopus
Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities....more.

Articles, Books & Book Chapters

No Full Text
Ageline Database
This database focuses exclusively on those 50+. Materials indexed and abstracted include journal articles, books and book chapters, government documents, and reports about aging and middle age....more.
No Full Text
Alcohol Studies Database
Search over 80,000 citations for materials dealing with beverage alcohol (beer, wine, liquor, etc.), its use, and related consequences....more.
No Full Text
CAM on PubMed
Search over 450,000 citations to journal articles related to complementary and alternative medicine (CAM), which are a subset of PubMed articles covering these topics....more.
Partial Full Text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
1937-present. Search the primary index for nursing and allied health literature including health education, medical records, occupational therapy, physical therapy, respiratory therapy, physician's assistant, and more....more.
Full Text
Consumer Health Complete
1992-present. Provides full-text, consumer-oriented health information covering mainstream, alternative, and holistic medicine on many topics....more.
No Full Text
ETHXWeb
Search for all aspects of bioethics and professional ethics found in a wide variety of sources such as journal articles, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audio-visual materials....more.
Partial Full Text
Global Health
This international public health database brings together content from several sources to cover developed and developing countries on topics of concern to public health....more.
No Full Text
HaPI: Health & Psychosocial Instruments (EBSCOhost)
A major database for locating information on many types of measurement instruments such as questionnaires, ratting scales, interview forms, tests, and more. This database has 5 simultaneous users....more.
No Full Text
HealthStar/Ovid HealthStar (1966 - Present)
Search for information about the business of health care for topics such as hospitals, patient outcomes evaluation, health policy, health insurance, health technology, and health administration for the dates indicated....more.
No Full Text
HealthStar/Ovid HealthStar (1966-1998)
Search for information about the business of health care for topics such as hospitals, patient outcomes evaluation, health policy, health insurance, health technology, and health administration for the dates indicated....more.
No Full Text
HealthStar/Ovid HealthStar (1999 - Present)
Search for information about the business of health care for topics such as hospitals, patient outcomes evaluation, health policy, health insurance, health technology, and health administration for the dates indicated....more.
Partial Full Text
HighWire Press Journals
Search through one of the largest online repositories of free full-text articles in addition to subscribed journals. Journals cover primarily science, technology and medicine with some in social sciences and humanities....more.
Full Text
JAMA Network
Search or browse Journal of the American Medical Association plus 10 additional JAMA journals....more.
Partial Full Text
Journals@Ovid
Indexes and abstracts all Journals@Ovid. View tables of contents and abstracts for each. Full text is available for journals found in Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection plus some individually selected titles....more.
Partial Full Text
JSTOR
This primarily archival journal resource and current scholarship program journals provide access to full-text of approximately 1200 unique journal titles....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
1946-present. Search citations from over 5,600 biomedical journals. Topics covered include medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-medical sciences....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE® (1946 - 1995)
Ovid. Search the international literature on bio-medicine, including allied health fields, communication disorders, biological and physical sciences, and humanities as they relate to medicine and health care for dates given....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE® (1946 - Present)
Ovid. Search the international literature on bio-medicine, including allied health fields, communication disorders, biological and physical sciences, and humanities as they relate to medicine and health care for dates given....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE® (1996 - Present)
Ovid. Search the international literature on bio-medicine, including allied health fields, communication disorders, biological and physical sciences, and humanities as they relate to medicine and health care for dates given....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE® Daily Update
Ovid. Provides daily updates for the Medline database....more.
No Full Text
MEDLINE® In-Process
Ovid. The National Library of Medicine's in-process database for MEDLINE. It provides basic information and abstracts for journal articles or other items before they are assigned MeSH heading(s)....more.
Partial Full Text
My NCBI (Sign Into NCBI)
Use this link to sign into My NCBI account from off campus to search and save results from PubMed and related NCBI databases....more.
Partial Full Text
Nature Journals
January 1997-present. Access to Nature and many of its related publications....more.
No Full Text
OLDMEDLINE®
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this database consists of bibliographic records originally published in the print Index Medicus, from 1948-1965....more.
No Full Text
OT Search: The Occupational Therapy Bibliographic System
Brings together materials about occupational therapy in addition to materials related to occupational therapy from fields such as rehabilitation, education, health care delivery and administration, and psychology. Available only on the Medical Center Campus and remotely....more.
No Full Text
OT Seeker (Occupational Therapy)
Search abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Clinical trials are rated using the PEDro scale....more.
Partial Full Text
Ovid Databases Access
Select one of the Ovid Databases from one of the Library's alphabetical database lists. If accessing the Personal Edition with an Ovid username and password, click Personal Edition....more.
No Full Text
PILOTS: Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
Search this freely available index, with summaries for worldwide literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health consequences of exposure to traumatic events....more.
No Full Text
Population Index
Search an annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics from 1986-2000. No longer updated....more.
No Full Text
PubMed
1809-present.The definitive database for medical research and drug studies provided by the National Center for Biotechnology Information....more.
No Full Text
PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset
Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) is now a subset of PubMed. The scope includes the use and function of vitamin, mineral, phytochemical, botanical, and herbal supplements in human nutrition....more.
No Full Text
REHABDATA Database
The leading database on disability and rehabilitation. Search over 80,000 articles, reports, and papers covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, and more....more.
Partial Full Text
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Search or browse over 2,200 ScienceDirect titles available to SLU, primarily from 1995 to present....more.
No Full Text
SLU Hospital (PubMed)
Special link for SLU Hospital employees to access PubMed....more.
Partial Full Text
SportDiscus with Full Text
Search the primary database for information on sport, sports medicine, physical education, coaching, sport administration, sport law & legislation, and more. This database has 1 simultaneous user....more.
Partial Full Text
WHO IRIS
IRIS is the World Health Organization's Institutional Repository for Information Sharing. Search all WHO publications or limit to one of the regional offices....more.
Partial Full Text
Wiley Online Library
Browse or search across over 1,000 journal titles generally from 1996 or 1997 to present and several online encyclopedias covering life science, management, and some technology....more.
Partial Full Text
Your Journals@Ovid
Search only those Journals@Ovid to which Saint Louis University subscribes. View tables of contents, abstracts, and full text for each....more.

Citation Indexes

No Full Text
Scopus
Search one of the largest abstract and citation databases for materials on science, engineering, technology, and medicine along with some social sciences and humanities....more.
No Full Text
Web of Science
1990-present. Brings together Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Science Citation Index Expanded. Search thousands of research journals by topic or do a Citied Reference search....more.

Data & Statistics

Full Text
BoardVitals Nursing Exam Prep Tool
Contains exam questions with explanations for the NCLEX RN, NCLEX PN, CCRN, AANP Family Nurse Practitioner, ANCC Family Nurse Practitioner and Psychiatric-Mental Health NP Board Exams....more.
Full Text
National Center for Health Statistics
From the Center for Disease Control & Prevention, the National Center for Health Statistics is a rich source of information and statistics about American health....more.
Partial Full Text
NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information)
Provides access to many biomedical and genomic resources to support science and medical research....more.
Partial Full Text
RePORT: Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools
This is an accountability tool, providing "access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research."...more.

Directories

Full Text
Cabell's Scholarly Analytics
Includes information for authors about journals from education, business, health administration, and nursing....more.

Dissertations

Partial Full Text
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
1637-present. Replaces PQ Dissertations & Theses Full Text by adding a growing collection of dissertations and masters theses from international universities and associations. Full text is primarily 1996-present with some earlier....more.

eBooks

Full Text
AccessMedicine
This resource provides access to the most recent editions of many medical reference books....more.
Full Text
Books@Ovid
Currently contains 124 major clinical textbooks covering over 33 medical specialties. Lippincott's Clinical Choice from Ovid with 42 titles is contained within Books@Ovid....more.
Full Text
ClinicalKey
Brings together many types of resources from Elsevier. Includes over 1,100 medical and surgical reference books, over 600 medical and surgical journals, point-of-care clinical monographs, drug monographs, and more....more.
Full Text
MyiLibrary
This ebook collection currently contains approximately 100 books in science and medicine and 10-15 titles in history and the social sciences....more.
Full Text
OMMBID
Online access to the book The Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Diseases (OMMBID)....more.
Full Text
PsychiatryOnline
Provides the suite of Diagnostic Statistical Manual books in addition to a number psychiatry journals and textbooks....more.
Full Text
STAT!Ref
Contains drug guides, lab test manuals, ICD-9 and ICD-10 codes, medical dictionaries, other reference ebooks, BoardVitals for nursing, a board test prep resource, and more....more.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, & Other Reference

Full Text
AMA Manual of Style Online, 10th edition
The major guide to writing and citation style for medical publications....more.
Full Text
DSM Legacy: Previous Editions of DSM
Provides access to all previous editions of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, the DSM-I through DSM-IV-TR in pdf. Each edition downloads as a whole book....more.
Full Text
DSM Library
This is the newest edition (5th) of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, pdf copies of DSM I through DSM IV-TR, and related books....more.
Full Text
MedlinePlus
Find high quality health information from reliable sources in English and Spanish for over 900 diseases along with a medical encyclopedia; a medical dictionary; prescription and nonprescription drugs; and more....more.
Full Text
NetAnatomy
Provides radiographic, cross-sectional, and gross anatomy images, terminology, and descriptve text for the education of and review by health profession students at all levels....more.
Partial Full Text
OMIM (Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man)
This free web resource is an Online Catalog of Human Genes and Genetic Disorders from the McKusick-Nathans Institute of Genetic Medicine, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine....more.
Partial Full Text
TOXNET
Search across all government databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases....more.

Evidence-Based Medicine

Full Text
Cases Database
Cases Database brings together thousands of peer-reviewed, searchable, medical case reports published in a range of journals including content from PubMed Central, BioMed Central, Springer, and the BMJ Group....more.
Full Text
Clinical Trials.gov
Search over 41,000 clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions....more.
No Full Text
Cochrane Library: Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
A collection of published articles taken from bibliographic databases such as MEDLINE , EMBASE, and other published and unpublished sources. This is not full text but in many cases article summaries are available....more.
Full Text
Cochrane Library: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Search systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy....more.
No Full Text
Cochrane Library: Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
A bibliography of articles, books, and conference proceedings that report on methods used in the conduct of controlled trials....more.
No Full Text
Cochrane Library: Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
A collection of abstracts of systematic reviews that have been quality-assessed. Each abstract includes a summary of the review together with a critical commentary about the overall quality....more.
Partial Full Text
Cochrane Library: Full Collection
Consists of six evidence-based-medicine databases with different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making....more.
No Full Text
Cochrane Library: Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
A collection of completed and ongoing studies of the medical, social, ethical, and economic implications of healthcare interventions from around the world....more.
No Full Text
Cochrane Library: NHS Economic Evaluation Database (EED)
Contains references to economic evaluations with quality appraisal and highlights in studies' strengths and weaknesses....more.
Full Text
DynaMed Plus
Contains clinically-oriented, evidence-based summaries for almost 2,000 topics for point-of-care use by physicians, medical students, nurses, pharmacists, physical therapists and other health care professionals....more.
Full Text
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT)
Books from the NCBI Bookshelf that provide health information and support health care decision making for health care providers, researchers, and consumers....more.
Full Text
JAMAevidence
Contains Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice, The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis, education guides, PowerPoint slide sets, and more....more.
Partial Full Text
PDQ® - NCI's Comprehensive Cancer Database
Physician Data Query is a comprehensive cancer database containing peer-reviewed summaries on cancer treatment, screening, prevention, genetics, supportive care, and complementary & alternative medicine....more.
Partial Full Text
PEDro (Physiotherapy Evidence Database)
Free database of abstracts for randomized trials, systematic reviews, and clinical practice guidelines related to physiotherapy....more.
Partial Full Text
TRIP Database (Turning Research Into Practice)
Turning Research into Practice helps practitioners answer clinical questions by providing a place where health professionals can find high-quality material on the web to help support evidence-based practice....more.

Multimedia

Full Text
Psychotherapy.net (Streaming video)
Provides psychotherapy streaming videos & DVDs for teaching, training, and self-study that are useful for social work, clinical family therapy, psychiatric nursing, and clinical psychology....more.

Protocols

Full Text
Springer Protocols
Search for laboratory protocols in the life and biomedical sciences from book series such as Methods in Molecular Biology and Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology in addition to the Springer Protocol Handbooks....more.